JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Thursday, 05 May 2016 00:00

Holden Commodore: Where it all began…


The Commodore had big shoes to fill when it became Holden's flagship model in 1978, replacing the Kingswood on the road and the Torana on the race track.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92 reflects on the Commodore and Ford Falcon legacy, from their origins, on and off track battles, the greatest models and drivers and a look ahead to what will be the final generation to be part of this rivalry.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92.

Australian touring-car racing was at a crossroads when the 1980 Australian Touring Car Championship (ATCC) kicked off at Symmons Plains in Tasmania on March 2.

The first era of Group C, starting in 1973, had come to an end. Ford and Holden had pulled their backing from the sport and the Falcon hardtop and various iterations of Torana that had dominated the grid right up until the end of 1979 had been superseded in the showroom.

Teams faced a new decade with new cars, revised Group C regulations and factories unwilling to play ball. The days of showroom models being built specifically to bring speed on the track, it seemed, were over... except they weren't.

A new name had arrived, one that would deliver Holden even more on-track success than the celebrated Monaro and Torana and draw the line between hot Australian road cars and their racing brethren closer than at any time since the production-series days of the late 1960s and early 1970s. That name? Commodore.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92 to read the full feature on the origins of the Commodore and so much more.

CLICK HERE for the Commodore's Bathurst and championship winners.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Shane van Gisbergen



 Scott McLaughlin



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Chaz Mostert



 Scott Pye



 Tim Slade


 Full points table