JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Thursday, 12 May 2016 00:00

Manufacturer devotion: Ford or Holden loyalists


There's a perception that the drivers of yesteryear were more brand loyal than their counterparts of today. But the likes of Brock, Moffat, Johnson and co defected at one point or another, as we see in our defectors feature.

In many cases, it's drivers from the V8 era that stuck with either Ford or Holden. As manufacturer alliance became more important in the Falcon and Commodore era, loyalty to a particular make increased.

CLICK HERE for more on the defectors.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92, a special Ford Falcon and Holden Commodore edition, takes a look back at the most-notable defectors between the Blue Oval and the General and the loyalists.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92.

Mark Winterbottom's relationship with the Blue Oval dates back to winning the Ford Kart Stars scholarship championship in 2001, which earned him a factory-backed drive in the Australian Formula Ford Championship.

He went on to debut in V8 Supercars with Stone Brothers Racing and continued his relationship with Ford at Larkham Motor Sport before promotion his into the factory-backed Ford Performance Racing team in 2006.

Garth Tander can also claim manufacturer exclusivity in his V8 Supercars career, from his debut with Garry Rogers Motorsport through to his inclusion in the factory-backed HSV Dealer Team and Holden Racing Team.

Read more about other loyalists, the defectors and more in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92, on sale now!

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Scott Pye



 Nick Percat


 Full points table