JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Monday, 30 May 2016 00:00

Top 10 non-Fords or Holdens: Best of the rest


While paying tribute to the greatest Ford Falcons and Holden Commodores, V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92 also ranks the top 10 non-Fords or Holdens in the history of Australian touring cars.

Issue #92 reflects on the Falcon and Holden Commodore legacy, from their origins, on and off track battles, the greatest models and drivers and a look ahead to what will be the final generation to be part of this rivalry.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92.

Nissan is the most successful manufacturer aside from Ford and Holden, with two Bathurst victories and three championship wins with the Skyline BNR32 GT-R.

The four-wheel steer twin-turbo 2.6-litre straight six GT-R pushed the technical boundaries to breaking point, forcing Australian touring cars to move away from turbos and Group A.

The GT-R completed championship and Bathurst sweeps in 1991 and 1992, crushing its rivals along the way.

The Bluebird also added to the Nissan legacy as the only Group C car to lap the pre-Chase Mount Panorama circuit in under 2m14s, ushering in the turbo era.

In the hands of George Fury, the Bluebird finished second in points in 1983 and entered Bathurst folklore for that Shootout lap in 1984.

Another current Supercars manufacturer is also represented in Volvo with its 240T.

The four-cylinder, 2.1-litre turbocharged 240T won the 1986 championship in the hands of Robbie Francevic. And it should have achieved more in the Group A years had the Volvo Dealer Team not imploded at the end of that championship-winning year.

Other manufacturers represented include two-times champion BMW, the first-ever title winner in Jaguar, Chevrolet with its famed Camaro and Mazda with its championship-winning RX-7.

Grab a copy of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92 to read the full feature and see the order in which we rank the top 10 non-Fords and Holdens.

CLICK HERE for more on the top 10 Commodores.

CLICK HERE for more on the top 10 Falcons.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #92.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 28-March 3
Melbourne 400 March 14-17
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint April 5-7
WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint April 12-14
Perth SuperNight May 2-4
Winton SuperSprint May 24-26
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown June 14-16
Watpac Townsville 400 July 5-7
Ipswich SuperSprint July 26-28
The Bend SuperSprint August 23-25
ITM Auckland SuperSprint September 13-15
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 10-13
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 October 25-27
Sandown 500 November 8-10
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 November 22-24







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Scott Pye



 Rick Kelly



 Fabian Coulthard



 Nick Percat


 Full points table