JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 00:00

Summer loving: The case for a change of season


There's a big stumbling block to the often-stated goal of a condensed Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar that can attract wider mainstream appeal. And it relates to how Supercars fits in with the leading football codes in Australia.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93 takes an in-depth look into the future of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, through an examination into the technical, sporting and calendar conundrums the series faces.

Issue #93 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93.

The current season begins and ends before and after the AFL and NRL seasons. This allows for the two showpiece events, the season-opening Clipsal 500 Adelaide and the prestigious Bathurst 1000, to have 'clean air' away for the footy seasons. But, in the process, it stretches out the season with not enough events for a fortnightly schedule from March to December.

Plus, racing over the Australian winter limits the potential for a packed mid season with limited events in the warmer northern half of the country, in Darwin, Townsville and Ipswich.

Moving to a summer schedule has been discussed in some quarters of the paddock and even gained the support of some of the biggest names in the sport.

"Why do we race in the winter?" asked the great Peter Brock at the Sandown 500 in 2004.

"Why are we not doing more summer sport? Why does our sport not go from around this time – late August, early September – through to May? I have often wondered about that."

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93 to read the full feature, including our proposed summer calendar.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Shane van Gisbergen



 Scott McLaughlin



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Chaz Mostert



 Scott Pye



 Tim Slade


 Full points table