JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Saturday, 16 July 2016 00:00

Team histories: Where did they come from?


The movement of licenses amongst teams has become as vital to the silly season as driver changes; from the time the licensing system was introduced in 1999 to the 26 entries campaigning in 2016.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93 digs through the archives to reveal the lineage of the current Virgin Australia Supercars Championship teams.

Issue #93 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93.

Keeping track of driver movements has become hard enough in recent seasons, let alone the changes in teams from the booming grids of late nineties to today.

As the professionalism of V8 Supercars increased, there was an inevitable need to condense an oversubscribed grid. There were 39 entries at the first Adelaide 500 in 1999 and 53 starts for the Bathurst 1000 later that year.

In order to professionalise and streamline the grid, V8 Supercars introduced a licensing system that would form the foundation of the Racing Entitlement Contract (REC) structure in place today.

A Level 1 license required a team to compete at all rounds, Level 2 licenses were for part-timers and Level 3 licenses for second-tier Development Series entrants.

The original Level 1 license holders were: Holden Racing Team, Dick Johnson Racing, Garry Rogers Motorsport, Gibson Motorsport, Glenn Seton Racing, Perkins Engineering, Stone Brothers Racing, John Faulkner Racing, Lansvale Racing Team, Larkham Motor Sport, Longhurst Racing and Romano Racing.

Other entrants would have their Level 2 licenses elevated to Level 1 in the coming years, as the licensing system evolved to the point where there were only Level 1 entrants, required to compete at every event of the championship.

Issue #93 presents a rundown of how the current teams competing in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship link up with the original license holders and the evolution of the RECs.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Chaz Mostert



Mark Winterbottom 



 David Reynolds



 Cameron Waters



 Garth Tander



 Craig Lowndes


 Full points table