JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Wednesday, 27 July 2016 00:00

AVESCO milestones: The decade that delivered


The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship has now dropped the V8 tag from its title, 20 years on from the time the V8 Supercars revolution had just begun.

V8X Supercar Magazine looks back at the rise of Tony Cochrane and AVESCO, as we approach the 20th anniversary of Cochrane's arrival as a major player in the Australian Touring Car Championship, in issue #93.

Issue #93 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93.

The AVESCO take over led to a decade of incredible growth for the series that would be known as V8 Supercars from 1997.

Issue #93 presents the 10 most significant developments from that first decade, from 1996 to 2006.

AVESCO set about capitalising on the popularity of the V8 era with a new television deal with Network Ten and a catchy new name, V8 Supercars.

The new era started under lights at the Calder Park Raceway for the first round of the 1997 season, elevating the status of the championship with regular television coverage.

Three different winners from the three races (Greg Murphy, Wayne Gardner and Glenn Seton) at the spectacular under lights Calder Park round showcased the competitiveness of the category to a whole new audience.

Other milestones featured are the inclusion of the endurance events at Sandown and Bathurst into the championship, the arrival of the Adelaide street-circuit event that became known as the Clipsal 500, the creation of the second-tier Development Series, the first championship event in New Zealand and more.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #93 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Shane van Gisbergen



 Scott McLaughlin



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Chaz Mostert



 Scott Pye



 Tim Slade


 Full points table