JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Tuesday, 27 September 2016 00:00

Shootout: Ten best internationals at Bathurst


It's 50 years since Finland's Rauno Aaltonen etched his name into Great Race history by becoming the first international to win what was then known as the Bathurst 500.

The Finnish rally star joined the BMC Australia team for the event at Mount Panorama and duly led a Mini sweep of the top-nine placings alongside Bob Holden.

To celebrate the anniversary, V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94 ranks the top 10 international drivers to race in the Bathurst 500/1000.

Issue #94 is a Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 special edition and is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94.

Some came from different racing disciplines such as Aaltonen. Yoshimi Katayama was a Japanese motorcycle grand prix winner who turned to four wheels as a factory Mazda driver later in his career. After rolling his RX-3 in his rookie campaign at Bathurst in 1977, Katayama returned as co-driver to Allan Moffat and finished second in 1983.

Mattias Ekström, the Swedish all-rounder pictured above, qualified impressively just a second off pole position on his Mount Panorama debut in 2013, finishing the race in the top 10 alongside Andy Priaulx in a Triple Eight Holden VF Commodore wildcard entry.

Jacky Ickx, the Belgian multiple grand prix and Le Mans winner, paired up with Moffat in 1977 and, despite his rookie status, played his part in the famed one-two formation finish.

Where do these drivers rank? And who else is included in the top 10?

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of V8X Supercar Magazine issue #94 to find out.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table