JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Thursday, 17 November 2016 00:00

Super push: Female drivers in Supercars


Supercars' signing of Nissan Motorsport-bound Simona de Silvestro to a three-year deal is a landmark for the category in the push to have regular female drivers on the grid.

V8X Supercar Magazine takes a look at this push in issue #95, featuring interviews with Supercars CEO James Warburton, former driver and Women in Australian Motorsport representative Samantha Reid, Erebus Motorsport team owner/boss Betty Klimenko, Nissan Australia CEO Richard Emery and more.

Issue #95 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #95.

De Silvestro's deal to race for three years in Supercars after two wildcard appearances at Mount Panorama is big news for women in Australian motorsport, and the most important driver signing in two decades of the series.

It comes at a time when things are changing... and fast! The AFL initially targeted a start date of around 2020 for its new women's league, but then it tested the water with some demonstration games and found the appetite was so great it made it happen for next year. Netball is also ramping up with new teams and a bigger competition in 2017.

But in motorsport women compete on the same stage as men at all ages. We do not need a women's only competition and de Silvestro will go head-to-head with the biggest names in our sport because she can. Now one of Bathurst's Supergirls can just be one of the drivers.

The feature also lists all the female drivers that have competed in the Bathurst 500/1000 to determine which decade saw the greatest number of female representatives.

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of issue #95 to read the full feature.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table