JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 7915
Thursday, 22 December 2016 00:00

Season in review: Top 10 drivers of 2016


Championship standings don't always tell the true story of a driver's season, with some underachieving in strong teams and others overachieving with smaller teams.

V8X Supercar Magazine ranks the top 10 drivers of 2016 in our season in review edition, issue #96.

Issue #96 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on V8X Supercar Magazine issue #96.

Shane van Gisbergen unsurprisingly leads the way as the Supercars champion and Pirtek Endurance Cup winner.

Big things were expected of van Gisbergen in his first season with Triple Eight Race Engineering and he delivered victory in the second event of the season in Tasmania.

In the second half of the season the Kiwi truly hit his stride with victories at four consecutive events in Darwin, Townsville, Ipswich and Sydney, plus three second places and a win in the endurance races, to hold off his more experienced teammate in the points.

Elsewhere, Nick Percat may have only finished in 18th in the championship but once again punched above his weight at Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport, earning him a move to Brad Jones Racing in 2017.

He won the Clipsal 500 Adelaide by staying out of trouble in treacherous conditions, adding a top 10 in Sandown and podium at Bathurst to his impressive tally.

Moving from Prodrive Racing Australia to Erebus Motorsport appeared to be a significant step back 
for David Reynolds.

Yet he seemed to embrace the role of team leader with a top five on debut with the team in Adelaide, fastest race laps at Winton and Bathurst and a podium in Sydney.

Where did they rank in the top 10? And who made the cut and who missed out?

CLICK HERE to purchase the print edition of issue #96 to find out.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table