Monday, 10 April 2017 03:24

Shootout: Biggest silly season moves of the V8 era


The 2016-2017 silly season was headlined by Scott McLaughlin's move to DJR Team Penske and saw veterans Garth Tander and Jason Bright return to former teams. V8X Supercar Magazine issue #97 ranks the 10 biggest silly season moves of the V8 era.

Here are the top 10:

10. John Bowe – Dick Johnson Racing to PAE Motorsport

Bowe ended an 11-year association with Dick Johnson Racing with his shock move to the Catepillar-backed PAE Motorsport entry in 1999.

9. Scott McLaughlin – Garry Rogers Motorsport to DJR Team Penske

McLaughlin's switch to DJR Team Penske this off-season shapes as a career-defining move, with the Ford team's acquisition of Ludo Lacroix improving its chances of taking on the current powerhouse, Triple Eight Race Engineering.

8. Craig Lowndes – Ford Performance Racing to Triple Eight

With results hard to come by at the factory Ford team, Lowndes judged his next move to perfection by signing with the up-and-coming Triple Eight for 2005.

7. Russell Ingall – Perkins Engineering to Stone Brothers Racing

After seven seasons with Perkins Engineering, Ingall announced his move to Stone Brothers Racing at one minute past midnight on New Year's in 2003 due to contractual agreements and went on to claim a long-awaited title.

6. Shane van Gisbergen – Stone Brothers Racing to Tekno Autosports

Van Gisbergen shocked the paddock when he announced his decision to walk away from V8 Supercars. He soon resurfaced at Tekno Autosports for 2013, setting him up for promotion into the factory Triple Eight team for a championship-winning move in 2016.

5. Jamie Whincup – Tasman Motorsport to Triple Eight

Triple Eight recruited Whincup to help Lowndes win at Bathurst. They achieved that feat at their first attempt in 2006, while few could've predicted the championship impact Whincup would have when he was signed by the team.

4. Mark Skaife – Gibson Motorsport to Holden Racing Team

With Gibson struggling for sponsorship post-tobacco advertising, Skaife headed to the Holden Racing Team to replace the retiring Peter Brock in 1997 for what would be a dominant spell.

3. Peter Brock – Advantage Racing to Holden Racing Team

Brock's switch legitimised the Holden Racing Team in 1994, setting up the championship success that would come for Lowndes and Skaife. It was also a significant return to the factory Holden fold after his split with the make in 1987.

2. James Courtney – Dick Johnson Racing to Holden Racing Team

In the midst of his championship-winning season, Courtney looked to move on from the off-track turmoil at Dick Johnson Racing and eventually took the #1 to the Holden Racing Team in 2011.

1. Craig Lowndes – Holden Racing Team to Gibson Motorsport

The switch that shocked V8 Supercars! Lowndes' move from the factory Holden team to the new-look Ford outfit was the highest-profile defection of the V8 era, eventually leading him to the new-look factory team, Ford Performance Racing, and then Triple Eight.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #97.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Shane van Gisbergen



 Scott McLaughlin



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Chaz Mostert



 Scott Pye



 Tim Slade


 Full points table