Tuesday, 30 May 2017 18:00

Glenn Seton: Baby-faced assassin


It's 20 years since Glenn Seton took his second championship win in 1997, the last success for a single-car team in Supercars. He reflects back on his career following on from his recent return to Mount Panorama in V8X Supercar Magazine issue #98.

Issue #98 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #98.

Seton was officially at the 2017 Bathurst 12 in an engineering capacity, but then the came the chance to have a steer himself. That wasn't something he was about to turn down.

"Any opportunity you get to run at Bathurst you grab with open arms," he says. "Even though I've been there about 30 times now, you still miss the place when you haven't been there in a while. It's a pretty special bit of road."

Of course, any talk of the Bathurst podium and Seton inevitably ends up in one place – its top step and the fact he famously never managed to stand on it during his touring-car career. But he's not too worried about it.

"At the end of the day I've stood on the podium many times, just not on the top step, and had a huge amount of rewards every time I've been to Bathurst regardless, whether it's pole positions or standing on second or third," he says.

"I look back on it based on how lucky have I been to do that and have the achievements I've had rather than looking at it on a negative side and getting screwed up about not winning it."

Using the 'best driver to never win Bathurst' tag to describe Seton, frankly, does him a disservice anyway.

The first title winner of the V8 era, the first Supercars (nee V8 Supercars) champion, factory driver, team-owner/driver, member of one of Australia's great touring-car dynasties and vanguard of our sport's transition from the vocation of old hands to young, hungry guns.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #98 to read the feature.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table