Thursday, 13 July 2017 22:09

Double duty: LDM’s school-boy rookie


Teenager Alex Rullo is the youngest driver to ever race in Supercars and is combining his Year 12 studies in his native Perth with racing in the main game for Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport in 2017. So how is the Western Australian coping at such a young age? We examine in issue #99.

Issue #99 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #99.

Rullo is not alone in elite sports as a teenager; we have swimmers and tennis players competing all around the world before they have finished school. But motorsport is different. The cost of a dummy spit can be much more, not just counting into the hundreds of thousands of dollars but also of life and limb.

But the debut age in motorsport is dropping around the world and being challenged time and time again. Max Verstappen set the bar at 17 years and 166 days old when he made his Formula 1 debut two seasons ago and became the youngest grand prix winner at 18 years and 28 days.

Paul Dumbrell was previously the youngest to debut in Supercars when he raced at Bathurst in 1999 as a 17-year-old. Rullo was 16 years and 273 days when the lights went green for the first race of the 2017 season in Adelaide. He has to stick L-plates on the road car to get to the track but he doesn't seem to carry his study books with him when he arrives.

"It's honestly something that I leave behind when I leave school in Perth," he says of the case of the strangely absent schoolbag.

"Every time I make the journey across, I'm working with a bunch of young adults, mainly, and a lot of experienced guys as well. We've got a good blend to the team and I sort of fit in with all of them."

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #99 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Superloop Adelaide 500 February 28-March 3
Melbourne 400 March 14-17
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint April 5-7
WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint April 12-14
Perth SuperNight May 2-4
Winton SuperSprint May 24-26
BetEasy Darwin Triple Crown June 14-16
Watpac Townsville 400 July 5-7
Ipswich SuperSprint July 26-28
The Bend SuperSprint August 23-25
ITM Auckland SuperSprint September 13-15
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 October 10-13
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 October 25-27
Sandown 500 November 8-10
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 November 22-24







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Scott Pye



 Rick Kelly



 Fabian Coulthard



 Nick Percat


 Full points table