Monday, 17 July 2017 18:04

Feature: How touring cars ruled over open wheelers


Open wheelers are the most popular form of motorsport in most parts of the world. Yet in Australia touring cars reign supreme. This despite the fact great grand prix drivers descended to the region in the annual Tasman Series and the popularity of the local Formula 5000 category. So how did we get here with touring cars on top? We examine in issue #99.

Issue #99 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #99.

Australian motorsport was revolutionised before our very eyes, yet somehow none of us saw it happening. From a sport dominated by open wheelers, throughout the 1970s the barometer of public opinion gradually began swinging in favour of touring cars, which by the end of the decade had made legends out of Peter Brock and Allan Moffat.

To that point, motorsport in Australia had been dominated, largely, by the annual Tasman Series. The world's best open-wheel racers would venture south from the snowy European winter, lapping up the the sun, sand and race tracks of Australia and New Zealand. It was a golden era, with our own Jack Brabham the established star on the world stage, a man who had seemingly single-handedly conquered the automotive powerhouses of Ferrari and Lotus with an engine developed in Melbourne.

Adding to the international flavour were many of those against whom Brabham competed in Europe, providing fans with an almost complete Formula 1 grid on their own doorstep. From Lakeside to Sandown, motorsport fans throughout the 1960s enjoyed an opportunity to rub shoulders with the greats of the sport: Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, Graham Hill, John Surtees and others.

Today, Australian motorsport is dominated by Supercars, a category which captivates the nation but one which shares little in common with its touring-car ancestors. Underneath the skin there is little in common with today's family cars, yet it remains relevant and aspirational. With manufacturer involvement, it continues to sell itself based on brand allegiances.

What's more, there is no open-wheel equivalent, leaving Supercars unopposed at the top of the mountain. Since Formula 1 arrived in Australia in 1985 there has been no top-level national open-wheel class. And while Formula Holden, Formula Ford and Formula 3 tried to fill the void, formula-style racing has faced its own demons in recent years.

The talk of a revivial of a Formula 5000 series comes at a time when Formula 4 is trying to cement its place in Australian motorsport and Formula Ford and Formula 3 have been demoted to the state level. The desire to revive Formula 5000 could be Australian motorsport's last attempt for an open-wheel category popular with fans.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #99 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Scott Pye



 Nick Percat


 Full points table