Monday, 07 August 2017 10:16

Shootout: Top 10 circuits we miss in Supercars


While Supercars is abuzz with the possibility of new international events, the expansion of Queensland Raceway and development of The Bend Motorsport Park facility in South Australia, V8X Supercar Magazine takes a moment to pay tribute to the circuits we miss in Supercars in issue #99.

Issue #99 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #99.

The fast and undulating Oran Park Raceway (pictured above) to the south-west of Sydney is fondly remembered as arguably Sydney's best circuit.

Crowds flocked to the circuit with its iconic figure-eight layout. Its loss to Sydney's suburban sprawl was a tragic loss for Australian motorsport.

Lakeside Raceway remains the spiritual home of Queensland motorsport. The fast and flowing circuit to the north of Brisbane was popular with drivers. The high-speed nature of the circuit meant the modern day V8 Supercars outgrew the facility, to the category's loss.

Like with Oran Park Raceway in New South Wales, no other circuit has been able to fill the void and crowd numbers in the region have suffered as a result.

What Amaroo Park Raceway lacked in terms of length it made up for in character. The 1.94km circuit included sweepers, kinks and undulations, with its natural amphitheatre popular with fans. Its demise marked the decline in Sydney track activity.

Street circuits featured include the Canberra street circuit in the nation's capital. It ran through the Parliamentary Triangle area of the capital and produced a surprising amount of overtaking considering its narrowness. It fell victim to state politics and was hurt by a mid-winter event date.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #99 to read the full feature.


Event Date
Adelaide 500 1-4 March
2018 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 22-25 March
Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint 6-8 April
WD-40 Phillip Island 500 20-22 April
Perth SuperSprint 4-6 May
Winton SuperSprint 18-20 May
CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown 15-17 June
Watpac Townsville 400 6-8 July
Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint 20-22 July
Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint 4 August
The Bend SuperSprint 24-26 August
Sandown 500 14-16 September
Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 4-7 October
Vodafone Gold Coast 600 19-21 October
ITM Auckland SuperSprint 2-4 November
Coates Hire Newcastle 500 23-25 November







 Scott McLaughlin



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Jamie Whincup 



 Craig Lowndes



 David Reynolds



 Chaz Mostert



 Fabian Coulthard



 Rick Kelly



 Scott Pye



 Nick Percat


 Full points table