Tuesday, 03 October 2017 18:12

Event preview: 2017 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000


The big one! The Bathurst 1000 remains the biggest event on the Supercars schedule; the race all teams and drivers want to win above all the rest.

V8X Supercar Magazine issue #100 is your must-have guide to the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and Pirtek Endurance Cup, including event previews, team profiles, driver line-up, records, statistics and more.

Issue #100 is on sale now in stores with the digital edition available in the official V8X app (in the App Store and Google Play), online at DigitalEdition.V8XMagazine.com.au and in the Magzter app store.

CLICK HERE for more information on issue #100.

The Mount Panorama Circuit, originally constructed as a scenic tourist drive in 1938, has hosted a long-distance touring-car race since 1963, when the endurance event moved from Phillip Island. In 1973, the race was increased from 500 miles to 1000km and run to the same technical regulations as the Australian Touring Car Championship. The Bathurst 1000 was included in the championship from 1999 and has played a big part in the title proceedings in recent seasons.

Mount Panorama is a favourite amongst the drivers and ranks amongst the best race tracks of the world. The undulating run from Griffin's Bend to Forrest's Elbow is considered the greatest test of drivers on the Supercars schedule.

Recent Bathursts have been decided in manic final stints, including last season when a collision between leaders Jamie Whincup, Scott McLaughlin and Garth Tander paved the way for Tekno Autosports' Will Davison to sail through for the win.

An added complication for teams will be the switch to last year's specification Dunlop tyre to ensure the championship avoids a repeat of the failures witnessed at Phillip Island this season.

CLICK HERE for 2017 Pirtek Endurance Cup entry list.

CLICK HERE to purchase issue #100 to read the full preview.


Clipsal 500 Adelaide

2-5 March

Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint 

7-9 April

WD-40 Phillip Island 500  21-23 April 

Perth Super Sprint  

5-7 May 

Winton Super Sprint 

19-21 May 

CrownBet Triple Crown Darwin

16-18 June

Watpac Townsville 400

7-9 July

Coates Hire Ipswich Super Sprint

28-30 July

Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint

18-20 August

Wilson Security Sandown 500

15-17 September

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

5-8 October

Vodafone Gold Coast 600

20-22 October

ITM Auckland Super Sprint

3-5 November

Coates Hire Newcastle 500

24-26 November






 Jamie Whincup



 Scott McLaughlin



 Fabian Coulthard



 Chaz Mostert



 Shane van Gisbergen



 Craig Lowndes



 Cameron Waters



 Mark Winterbottom



 Garth Tander



David Reynolds 


 Full points table